• ROW80 - Round 3 - Check-in 5 (July, 22nd 2020): Writing again!

    Hi everyone!

    I started writing again yesterday and the story has pretty much been flowing out since then. I just love that first part where you set the details for a story and your brain seems to be boiling with new ideas! 

    This is a short check-in because I still have many things to do tonight, but I'm glad focusing on the house for a while was what I needed to get the juices flowing again.

    How about you? What's your favorite part of writing? Let me know in the comments.

    Color code:

    0-10% in red
    11-24% in pink
    25-39% in orange
    40-59% in yellow
    60-99% in green
    100% in flashy green
    Normally, there's also blue for progress and pause in purple, but right now i'll focus on numbers and only goals where progress has been made.

    Now for this week: 

    WRITING: I'll focus on one project mainly while following completed ones.

    "Hour of the Wolf": If the publisher does not decide to release it as part of the collection, I'll probably make it a freebie (ebook and Wattpad). I'm guessing they'll make a decision soon as their collection is to be released in November, so I'll adjust this goal accordingly once I hear from them. 

    Sci-fi erotica series Miss Chief in Wonderland: I started writing again and would like to have a few short stories ready for publication in 2021 or 2022. Finally wrting again. =D

    • Plan season 1
    • Draft episode 1 (July): 54%
    • Expand episode 5
    • Draft episode 7 (September)
    • Draft episode 8 (August)
    • Draft episode 9
    • Reorganize episodes

    WORK: Lots to do here! I'll try and get as much done as possible, though I expect life to keep getting in the way as it has lately. 

    Promotion: Over the summer, Hubby and I will build a communication strategy to get more business our way in September (since the summer is always slow). 12%

    Online courses: I'll focus on making online tests as I can use it immediately with current student, then I'll go back to making the lessons. Hubby and I will also take a look at a new theme for my business website and also upgrade the webhost (which means my writer's site will be hosted there too). Not yet this week.

    • Website stuff : upgrade host, new theme, LMS stuff... 
    • English - Starters: make tests 18%
    • English - Elementary: make tests 22%
    • English - Pre-intermediate: make tests 17%
    • Hanashimashou: resume making contents ASAP

    Quality certification: I can take it easy now but I'll keep doing bite-size tasks weekly.

    • cross-referencing document: I'll finish it during the Round.
    • tutorials: I'll keep making them, aiming at 2-4 a month, depending on how much material and preparation is needed. 20%

    Story Time: I'll keep making baby steps weekly, mostly preparatory work.

    • Wizard & Cat: signpost at least 1 episode a week. 24%
    • Timmy & the Hungry Monster: make a general plan, list the language, list the material. I'm listing the language and I'm somewhere around 75%.

    PUBLISHING: I'll mostly market my books, old and new.

    Curiouser & Curiouser (my debut novel, in French only for now): I'll keep track of reviews and sales, while marketing the book some more. Looking at the sales was a nice boost too. ^^

    Red Hot Spring (English): I'll make the final preparations to publish in August and market. 66%

    We Missed Each Other (English): I'll start making preparations once Red Hot Spring is ready. 34%

    PERSONAL: We'll do some damage control and try and get help while Hubby is stuck with pain in his back. 

    House renovation: that's the big question mark as most of the things that need to be done require Hubby or help. In the meantime, we'll focus on what contractors are supposed to do.

    • parental suite: still aiming at finishing it this year if we can. For this Round, sealing the tiles in the bathroom would be nice. And why not buy the wooden floor for the bedroom and threshold? We sealed the tiles on Monday and started working on the other bathroom (see below). We might get a contractor to help us move forward while Hubby can't do heavy lifting.
    • insulation: we need to get the contractor sent by the insurance company to come and the other ones to give us their estimates.
    • original bathroom: we dismantled the shower on Monday. Thankfully, most of the wooden floor was untouched and we won't have to replace it before adding a waterproof floor on top. Next step: get rid of that ridiculous carpeting!

    Housework: I'll mostly try and keep up what's been settled last Round. Maybe add a couple of new rooms (namely the porch entrance & workshop)  if I can get help from family and friends to get rid of the spiders in there (I'm extremely phobic when it comes to those...). I'll also try and get my office in order before September is here. Overall: 67%

    • office: finish reorganizing, archiving and so on. 50%
    • porch entrance: get rid of spiders and webs, spray with repulsive product, deep clean, add to cleaning routine, set coat pegs. Only one corner to tidy and a mirror to attach to the wall. 90%
    • workshop: get rid of spiders and webs, spray with repulsive product, deep clean, reorganize. It's clean and partly reorganized. 80%

    Self-improvement: I'll keep learning as a teacher, writer and parent.

    • Teaching early years MOOC: I'll be an active participant through the 6 weeks and implement new ideas at home and in my classes. 75% 
    • Choose next course in August: probably something about teaching again.

    Physical health: I'll try and be more and more active while making sure to give myself enough time to relax too and avoid burning out as a side effect of Hubby's slipped disk.

    • Housework: I'll focus my energy on this to stay active on a daily basis.
    • Stretching: I'll stretch every morning to prevent hurting myself while being active (I have a tendency to sprain)
    • Yoga: I'll try and have a yoga session with my girls at least once a week. For starters, I'll look for the best time slot for this. 
    • Abs/Fitness: if there's time and energy (ie if Hubby gets better and life stops happening so much), I'll get down to working on fixing my diastasis recti for good, then going back to fitness.

    Mental health & journalling: I've started a digital journal and will keep using it daily to keep track of my moods, ideas, learning, etc. Later, I'll schedule a lookback time to make sure this is useful. I'll also keep reading about emotional intensity but more on that below.

    Reading: I'll try to read daily.

    Emotional intensity: I'll try and complete this reading and discuss it with Hubby. 51.5%

    Beta-reading a Sci-Fi novel: I'll make notes and send feedback to the writer by mid-August. 54%

    Writer's website: I'll start the new website for sure, and hopefully get my hands on the original one to export it rather than rebuild from scratch. Hubby will help since sitting in the office armchair is the one thing he manages to do without feeling too horrible. I've set a deadline to get started from scratch if we can't get our hands on the original website: August, 15.


  • Commentaires

    1
    Vendredi 24 Juillet 2020 à 08:00
    Joy Renee

    oh yes, word flow is a wonderful wonderful feeling.

    2
    Lundi 27 Juillet 2020 à 03:02

    Wow, it feels like everyone is focusing on home repairs lately! (Though I know they've been on your list for months now.) Maybe I'm just noticing it more as I consider some upgrades for my own house. I'm glad that it helped get you in the right space for writing! 

      • Lundi 27 Juillet 2020 à 06:48

        Thanks Shannon!

        I guess we do see in others what we focus on better. ^^

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :